iTopSpin

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: New To Tops and Need Some Guidance  (Read 4460 times)

Greaves504

• Gold Member
New To Tops and Need Some Guidance
« on: May 08, 2010, 09:15:01 AM »

hey there everyone, I'm new to the world of tops and I hope I can get to know it a little better. I live in the pacific and it's hard for me to find good sites to decide to order from. If you guys have any tips or anything for a newcomer drop a comment, appreciation in advance.

I got a few questions though:
First of all, where do I get one? I've been online the entire day researching through sites I google up and haven't been able to decide where's a good place to buy from.
Second, I've seen some videos on carving tops and I'm curious about that. I'm sure I can make a beginner's top on my own, but should I be able to get better, where can I find bearing tips? Everywhere I looked online was "out-of-stock"
and Finally, is there anything I should know about tops/trompos/etc. Like the Do's or Don'ts and whatnot.

I really would like to know all I can about these things and how they work.

Thanks again  :)
« Last Edit: May 08, 2010, 11:09:09 AM by ta0 »

the Earl of Whirl

• ITSA
  • Olympus member
    • St. Jacob Lutheran with a tops page
Re: New To Tops and Need Some Guidance
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2010, 10:00:29 AM »

Welcome Greaves504!  It's good to have you with us.  You say you are in the Pacific.  Can you tell us specifically where you are from in the Pacific?

You have undoubtedly seen a lot of talk around here about making tops with lathes.  We have some pretty amazing wood turners on this board.  But you use the word "carve" and it makes me think of some tops I have made with just a knife.  It can be fun to slowly whittle out a top and fine tune it so that it spins longer and longer.  I mention this, in case you don't have access to a lathe.
Happiness runs in a circular motion!!!