iTopSpin

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: How do I do the "quote" in a message?  (Read 755 times)

Bill Wells

How do I do the "quote" in a message?
« on: August 22, 2021, 09:47:13 PM »

Yes I read the topic in Help section.
But I still don't know how to select a sentence from a previous post and include it nicely into into my reply.

I am a newbie and otherwise coming along well in understanding this excellent site.

Thanks much
Bill
It's not worth doing if you're not obsessed about it.

Jeremy McCreary

• ITSA
  • Demigod member
    • MOCpages
Re: How do I do the "quote" in a message?
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2021, 10:08:35 PM »

But I still don't know how to select a sentence from a previous post and include it nicely into into my reply.

Two ways:
1. Find the message you'd like to quote, and click the "Quote" link at upper right. That will open a new message text box with the entire message quoted at the top between quote tags. Edit out what you want and add your own comment below.

2. While your message is still open, you can add a quote from any other message in the same thread. Just scroll down to it and click "Insert Quote" at upper right.

Final tip: You can also use the "Quote" link to see how messages you'd like to emulate are constructed. The full BBC code behind the message of interest will appear between the quote tags.
« Last Edit: August 22, 2021, 10:11:37 PM by Jeremy McCreary »
Art is how we decorate space, music is how we decorate time ... and with spinning tops, we decorate both.
—after Jean-Michel Basquiat, 1960-1988

Everything in the world is strange and marvelous to well-open eyes.
—Jose Ortega y Gasset, 1883-1955

ortwin

• ITSA
  • Hyperhero member
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2021, 04:24:11 PM »

Of course it is correct what Jeremy is saying.