iTopSpin

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: What's your story?  (Read 4068 times)

Greaves504

• Gold Member
What's your story?
« on: May 12, 2010, 09:21:38 AM »

Hey everyone :)
Since I'm new to tops, naturally, it's all I can think about. The tricks, the physics of it all, designs for my own, etc.
Then I started wondering if everyone got this excited at on point so I figured why not ask. I think it'd be cool to know a little more about everyone's story and figured it'd make a good topic.

So here's what I came up with:
How did you first discover tops?
Why did you start spinning?
How did you get your first top and what type of top was it?
How old were you and how many years have you been spinning?

I first saw a top when I was in elementary school on TV. They were playing My Summer Story.

About a week or so ago I came across a video on youtube with someone turning a top on a lathe and then a video of Gerardo Montero. Instantly needed to try for myself.

I don't have a top yet, but I'll be getting a few soon from Ta0. I can tell I'm gonna be spending a lot of time with the Turbo Pro and Aztec

I am 17, and the age I will start spinning for no doubt years to come. (possibly to the annoyance to my future wife :P)
« Last Edit: May 12, 2010, 10:31:28 AM by Greaves504 »

MatiasStuntMan

Re: What's your story?
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2010, 12:04:37 PM »

Good topic Greaves, here is my story:

I played with tops when I was a kid, my father played with them and he tought me how to throw. I used to play at school, Tops came in waves, one month it was Tops, the next Yo-Yos, the next marbles and so on.