iTopSpin

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Part of Michael L Trantham Spinning Top collection.  (Read 1097 times)

collectop

• Gold Member
Part of Michael L Trantham Spinning Top collection.
« on: November 22, 2021, 06:42:22 PM »

When do you call it quits from collecting. I have been collecting for 47 years now. My kids and family thinks I am nuts. I have two rooms filled with Spinning tops and boxes with tops in storage with no room to display them. My wife has her limits of where I can put them L.O.L. My question to you all is how many is too much?

ta0

• Administrator
  • Olympus member
    • www.ta0.com
Re: Part of Michael L Trantham Spinning Top collection.
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2021, 07:48:48 PM »

Hi Michael

That's an impressive collection! You might currently have the largest in the US. That you have enjoyed your hobby for 47 years is wonderful! You have to have a passion in life!

I'm not sure if you are asking when do you stop acquiring new tops or when do you get rid of the collection.
I imagine you still like collecting but you see practical problems.

To stop augmenting the collection is much easier than letting it go.
If every time you get a new top you have an excrusiating decision of either storing it in a box or sending another top into a box, I guess it's time to stop acquiring.
But if it becomes a burden, either financially, to family relations or even simply spatially, it may be time to get rid of it.