iTopSpin

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Bearing King Wobble  (Read 4898 times)

Zilla

• ITSA Jr.
Bearing King Wobble
« on: March 18, 2010, 10:17:48 PM »

Hi guys,
I'm a noob here so let me start off by asking a very nooby question. I have recently started learning spin top, but I can see myself getting addicted already. At the moment I only have a bearing king, It took a pretty nasty spill a couple of days ago and since then it has had some really nasty wobble/vibration and does not spin as long. I've looked at it pretty closely and there are no cracks or stress marks and the tip still seems to spin ok. I've already placed an order for a few new ones, including some spintastics, but since I'm in Australia the shipping can take weeks so, I'm hoping someone with more experience might be able to offer some advice so I can get back to it while i'm waiting. 

Neff

• ITSA Jr.
  • Demigod member
    • My Website!
Re: Bearing King Wobble
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2010, 10:40:45 PM »

Welcome Zilla! You is in the right place, no question too noob.  You might have seen some of this stuff hunting around on the board, but here's some tips:

Have you balanced your top?  Re:  http://www.topspinning.com/tricks/balancing.ghtml
Even just testing the cap on one way versus the other can make a huge difference.
It's a little easier to balance a top with a fixed tip, but you can use the same process.

Also, be sure to tape your BK up!  Get some electrical tape, and tape the cap to the body.  I like to do two wraps and match the end seam to the start seam, stretching it only enough for the tape to contour to the curve of the top.  BK's will break easily if you don't tape it up.