iTopSpin

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Need help with boomerang trick!  (Read 8970 times)

Hydrona

Need help with boomerang trick!
« on: May 07, 2019, 02:37:42 PM »

Hello fellow spin top throwers,
Nice to meet you all!

Im new here.  I am a beginner at spin tops.  Also a yo-yo player  :). I asked around on the YoyoExpert forum for people who can teach me.
So I found my way to this forum! 
I can throw a top, it's just very hard to learn tricks.
The question is: how do I throw a boomerang with a heavy top?  The top is made of wood and does not have a 'crown'.
All my tops are wood, heavy and have no crown. Some of them already are covered in scratches, those I use for practicing that is...
According to Neff,  which I've met on the YYE forum,  I need to pull harder and faster.
Do I need to pull slighty upwards at the same time? How do I need to stand?  I have the feeling that I need to throw sideways/horizontal to be able to catch it.

Anyway,  I feel happy I found others! 
Warm greets,
Hydrona

How I learned the boomerang trick
What I’ve learned:
1.   All the people here are amazing ! be sure to ask them if you don’t understand a trick!
2.   Be sure to practice outside! You don’t want to break /hit something!
3.   Wind the top, hold tip upwards, and try to throw horizontal (from right to left) I’m a lefty so I did the opposite!
4.   Don’t try to “pull” the top towards you, rather try  to lift your wrist a bit (up), so that the top is slightly going upwards. Try to do it like a robot,  turn your wrist a bit "up".  Notice your arm moves in a half- circle movement. Counter clock-wise.
5.    When you throw the top, notice the string is almost at the same height as the top. The string needs to “lift” the top .
6.   Be sure to “know” your top’s weight. A small, light top needs less “force” to pull up, than a heavier big top.