iTopSpin

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Traditional Taiwanese Tops and Games  (Read 10525 times)

alan850627

Traditional Taiwanese Tops and Games
« on: February 29, 2016, 11:34:34 PM »

Hi everyone, this is Alan from Austin, Texas. I met Ta0 at the Austin JuggleFest this past weekend and he introduced me to this forum. Glad to be here! Short intro: I am a native Taiwanese from Fongshan, now I’m studying Electrical Engineering at UT Austin. I saw from previous posts that there’re some interest in Taiwanese tops so I thought I’d share what I know.

Here is my little collection:

I got all these around when I was in first grade in Taiwan (2000~2001) when my grandpa taught me how to spin it on the ground. The top second from the left was the one that was most common in “school supply” stores everywhere. As of now, the most common one I see in stores is the one third from the left. The first four are made of solid wood, the fifth one I believe is plastic. The last one is made out of glass! When it was new, LEDs on the top of the top would light up when you spin it. As you can see I already cracked glass and the LEDs no longer work.

From previous posts, I know you guys know that there’re “top clubs” at schools in Taiwan, with the most famous team from Mei-Hua Elementary School. My elementary school didn’t have a top team, but two other schools in my district did. However, I do not know if they still do today… the children population is decreasing rapidly in Taiwan. Anyway, it’s unfortunate that I don’t see people play with tops on the streets anymore. Back in my grandpa’s generation, tops was a very common toy children played with and battle; in fact, most of them make their own! My grandpa was one of those kids (he was born in 1930s under Japanese rule).
If you’re interested, here is how he made tops: