iTopSpin

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Hello all!  (Read 12162 times)

Rich S

Hello all!
« on: March 18, 2015, 11:45:26 AM »

Hello all, my name is Rich and I love tops!  I am just into finger tops for now.  A little about me, I am a machinist of 24 years and part owner in a machine shop.  A little while ago I started making stuff for myself for fun to satisfy my "design" itch.  Anyways, I made some other stuff first but here is my latest.  Let me know what you think!
« Last Edit: March 18, 2015, 11:48:38 AM by Rich S »

Rich S

Re: Hello all!
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2015, 11:57:20 AM »

Here is a spin from last night:

ta0

• Administrator
  • Olympus member
    • www.ta0.com
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2015, 12:21:02 PM »

Wow! Very cool design and super futuristic pedestal!  8)
Great work!

Now, the spin time of 13 minutes is incredible!  :o
How heavy is it?
I would have guessed that the legs that hold the steel ball would produced some turbulence and drag decreasing the spin. On the other hand, they are close to the axis and therefore the torque is low. I am also surprised that the top continues bobbling (precessing) the whole time, while in my experience the ones that spin a long time are dead vertical during most of the duration.

Welcome to the forum!

Rich S

« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2015, 12:36:23 PM »

Thanks!, weight is 80 grams.  I was worried about the extra drag as well but thought it looked so cool I had to go with it.  The moving is due to that particular mirror as on other surfaces it does not do that.  I have a new surface coming soon and am curious to how long it will spin.  I am pretty sure I can get it to go over 15 minutes with enough tries.

the Earl of Whirl

• ITSA
  • Olympus member
    • St. Jacob Lutheran with a tops page
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2015, 02:09:56 PM »

Very very nice.  Quite impressive.

How great to have a machinist around these parts!