iTopSpin

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: ghost machine, or did someone else develop it into a different name yet?  (Read 704 times)

Daveid

• ITSA Jr.
  • pinwheels

i remember asking Matt Ritter (like 15 or so years ago) if he minded me twisting ghost catches into a pumped regen and calling it ghost machine but I'm not good at whip catches and haven't been in the mood to try much until recently... 10in hdpe tops make it easier to land but more difficult at higher numbers of repetitions, if i hadn't been trying to get into better shape to play with the 17inch top more i wouldn't be able to do this so much

basically just a sewing machine without having to let go of the string/rope, just sort of whipping it at or near full string length

https://youtu.be/M-8Q7GgL65E

https://youtu.be/ktKAy6vOkwA
« Last Edit: July 09, 2023, 08:26:33 AM by Daveid »
like I always say:dead monkeys don't fly on sticks.

ta0

• Administrator
  • Olympus member
    • www.ta0.com

Good job, David!

No, I don't think anybody has done that specific regen trick before. It looks quite challenging.
There is no running-down-the-string regen on the catch like in Sewing Machine or Roller Coaster. The regeneration mechanism seems to be mostly a pure pump (like in Drum Rolls) plus some pop-out jerk regen. A heavy top might be helpful to achieve regen.

That looks like an intensive workout with such a heavy top! You did like 35 catches on the first video!

I think knight Matt will be proud.

PS: Are you sending a routine to the online contest?

Eli Hickerson

• ITSA Jr.
  • Gold Member

This reminds me of Waves by Chris Neff where he does joker choker without letting go of the string. It’s a very cool feel when you get it going.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q4EwhJ1GF_Q

« Last Edit: July 09, 2023, 02:16:52 PM by ta0 »

Daveid

• ITSA Jr.
  • pinwheels