iTopSpin

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: New to the forum  (Read 3739 times)

Jimk

New to the forum
« on: May 23, 2012, 09:55:28 AM »

Hello All,
    My name is Jim and I am a misplaced Texan now living in the heart of Central Kentucky (USA). I must admit that I am several levels below beginner at this point. I had tops as a kid but never did quite get the hang of it and switched to Yo-Yos as most kids did.
Now some 50 or so years later I am thinking of making some tops and giving it a try once again. I am an amateur woodworker and have a small lathe. I have also found a place to order tips.  I have been lurking on the forum a bit but still have a ton of questions. Like what is the advantage of hollow verses solid? Is there any shape or size that is best or more popular?  I tend to gravitate towards the “traditional” style that they sold at the dime stores when I was young. What type of wood is good for tops? Poplar, oak, walnut and cedar are very easy to come by here, I also have a woodcrafters supply near me. Any and all advise are welcome.

Thanks

JimK

czyoyo

• Ultrahero member
  • I am American but I live in Czech Republic.
Re: New to the forum
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2012, 10:22:26 AM »

Welcome! Great to see so many new top throwers!  :)

Although I cannot answer your questions well, others will be able to.

I throw tops. I don't make them. (yet) ;)

Anyways, welcome!

poptop

• ITSA Jr.
  • Hyperhero member
  • top dropper
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2012, 10:39:16 AM »

Welcome Jim! 

I'd suggest you simply turn a few tops of traditional shape and size and see where it takes you.  Much of the joy for me has come from playing with tops of various shape, size and composition. 
Erratic Wobbler

lincolnrick

• ITSA
  • Hyperhero member
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2012, 11:38:06 AM »

Welcome to the forum Jim.