iTopSpin

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: SirBoot32  (Read 5095 times)

ta0

• Administrator
  • Olympus member
    • www.ta0.com
SirBoot32
« on: October 09, 2011, 10:37:35 PM »

The latest member of the board, SirBoot32 (Justin), visited me today. He is a grad student here in San Antonio and has been playing tops for a few months.  He is for real: he has already learned quite a bit by himself just by watching videos and he is now trying to learn regens. I may finally have somebody else in town to play tops with!  ;D

It seems he has been doing a lot of reading of past posts in the forum (but did not realize I was in town until recently.) I hope he is not too shy to present himself  :P

Gustin Joss

• Superhero member
Re: SirBoot32
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2011, 02:09:50 PM »

Jorge, thanks for the introduction! I started playing tops in early August after I bought a Duncan Imperial from a toy store in downtown San Francisco. When I did a web search for basic tricks, I was blown away by the amount of awesome that could be had with a spin top. I was also quite impressed at the tricks that were being called basic. For the first week, I was too scared to look up intermediate or advanced tricks.

I feel very lucky to live in the same city as Jorge. He has a beautiful home, a welcoming and kind family, and more fantastic tops than I could ever hope to afford (he even trusts me to play with the good ones  ;D. Although, I think it will be a while before I am in the Figaro Club...something to aspire to). Watching how smoothly he completes tricks is inspiring. He is a fantastic teacher who in one afternoon taught me more than I had taught myself in two months.

I look forward to meeting all of you (if only virtually) soon.

justin.

the Earl of Whirl

• ITSA
  • Olympus member
    • St. Jacob Lutheran with a tops page
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2011, 05:23:08 PM »