iTopSpin

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 All   Go Down

Author Topic: "Frustration"; a name, and a saga......  (Read 9817 times)

Eric

• ITSA Jr.
  • Superhero member
    • Eric's Photo Website
"Frustration"; a name, and a saga......
« on: March 26, 2011, 03:46:18 PM »

Yep......"Frustration".................that's the name of my new top........

I have been sitting on two blocks of Norfolk Island Pine for several years now; 6" in diameter. and about 8" tall.  I got them right after Alan, Dorothy and I saw some amazing thin hollow form vases/bowls turned from this wood at the American Association of Woodturners annual symposium in Portland, OR. in 2008.  It's really amazing wood, the trees grow very straight to about 50' and one of their key features is that the branches grow in symmetrical rows around the trunk.  When cut, the wood has rows of knots where the branches sprouted.  Here is one of the blocks:

The reason that I've not previously used the blocks for tops is that I have presumed that the knots would make it very difficult to balance the resulting top.....
Well, I gave in to temptation last week and turned a beautiful 6" top out of one of the blanks.  And, in the process, I learned something.....my original presumption was correct......To make things more interesting, there's a worm hole that goes through and back (you can see it in the picture). Here's the top:

The first throw was quite scary....it wobbled so much in the air that the tip was a blur, I caught it with both hands...barely.  On the second toss, the tip hit me in the thumb so hard that I spent the next ten minutes on the floor writhing in pain (it's been a week now and my thumb still hurts).