iTopSpin

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: walkin' a mile with my top  (Read 7799 times)

butterfingers

• ITSA Jr.
  • "Non-marketable skills are my specialty"
Re: walkin' a mile with my top
« Reply #15 on: April 29, 2019, 06:55:17 PM »

- Hey, Mike! I was excited to see this post from you. With the weather warming up it's time for me to start my daily walks. I have been walking along the Erie canal now for a few years. I take a small banjo or one of my ukuleles with me when I go. It's a great way to practice playing while standing up and forces me to look away from the fretboard. I will admit it's a weird thing to do. People tend to smile when I play the ukulele. Not so much when I have the banjo. The reaction I get from folks is about 50% smiles and 50% avoid eye contact completely. I often scare the wild animals. Geese hate me. Deer seem to be curious and stare before they run away. I have had several interesting conversations with people who stopped to chat with me and there has been occasional applause from the other side of the canal as I go by.

Here's a pic I took a while back to give you an idea of what the canal looks like.

When I go early in the morning the guy who runs the local pizza joint calls me the wandering minstrel. His dog likes to bark at me.

- I have not considered taking a top with me when I walk. I think I'll give it a try.

the Earl of Whirl

• ITSA
  • Olympus member
    • St. Jacob Lutheran with a tops page
« Reply #16 on: May 06, 2019, 09:18:48 AM »

Thanks for your response, butterfingers.  I have been thinking about walking with a ukelele, since you mentioned it, and I am convinced it has a lot of potential.  I will give it a try someday soon.

I did not realize you live near the canal.  My home and church are also near the old canal.  In fact, they are starting neighborhood watch groups and our area name is "the canal district."